Cash Wreath

These cash wreathes make the PERFECT gift. There is NO WAY to lose giving one of these wreathes! They have a lot to offer ($$CASH$$) and serve as home decor or a memento of the special day!! I am including step by step photos of 3 wreathes in 2 different styles.

For this project you will need:

Wreath form – foam or straw are really the best options.

Burlap (or whatever you want to wrap the wreath in)

Contrasting ribbon or fabric

Cash- I prefer to use $1 and $2 bills – for weddings I like to use $2 to symbolize 2 singles becoming one!

Straight pins

E6000 glue or hot glue

For a suspended letter wreath you will also need a large wooden or chipboard letter and beading wire

For a banner wreath you will need wooden (or heavy paper) pennants, lettering ( I use different fonts on the Cricut) and twine or beading wire.

Begin by wrapping your base material all around your wreath form.

Once that is done wrap a portion of the wreath with the contrast material or ribbon.

You can add a bow directly across from the contrast, if you like.

If you are doing a banner wreath- I painted my pennants, which I got from Michael’s.with a base color I wanted to peek out, then coated with crackle coat (man, I love crackle coat) then covered in my secondary color. After they crackled I sanded them for an even more worn look. I then added the initials (or date) of the celebrant.

This one was a baby shower gift – The wreath matched the shower and nursery theme.

IMG_6254-0

This was for a wedding- the colors/theme were burlap and turquoise. The “lady” is the card- I will make a totally separate post on the Julie Nutting stamps!

IMG_6424-0

For the suspended letter(or anything else) here are some clear step by step pics…

We wrapped the wreath form in the burlap and accented it with a teal-ish wired ribbon from Hobby Lobby The chipboard B was covered in coordinating buttons with E6000 and we drilled 4 holes in it- 1 in each “corner”.

  IMG_8778.JPG

We threaded the flex wire thru the holes and tied very tight double knots then tied the ends around the wreath form. We did this with all 4 corners. It gives the look of the letter just suspended in midair in the middle of the wreath.

             IMG_8780.JPG   IMG_8781.JPG   IMG_8779.JPG

I folded the $1 bills at into a “heart” shape(I’m no good at origami) and pinned them to the very top of the wreath.

IMG_8783.JPG  Then I began the $2 bills around the wreath. You kind of fold/crumple the bills into a nice shape and pin them, overlapping all the way around. I like to only cover about 2/3 of the wreath, especially if you have an accent bow on the side.

                                  IMG_8785   IMG_8786

Almost done…just one more thing to add….

IMG_8788

Et Voila- the completed project- The Bible vers – genesis 2:24 And the two shall become one…I printed it out as a wallet size from Walgreens.com and designed it on picmonkey.com.

2become1final

What kind of unique gifts do you like to make? If you make a cash wreath share your pics with me!!

intermediaterated

 

Leave a Reply

